Back to top

Federally Recognized Tribes

The Laboratory works closely with federally recognized tribes who have ties to the southeastern region of the United States. Below is a list of federally recognized Indigenous tribes who have ancestral homelands in the Southeast. For more information about federally recognized tribes, please visit the official website for the United States government:

Tribes of the Southeast

Absentee-Shawnee Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas
Alabama-Quassarte Tribal Town
Caddo Nation of Oklahoma
Catawba Indian Nation
Cherokee Nation
The Chickasaw Nation
Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana
The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma
Coushatta Tribe of Louisiana
Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians
Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma
Jena Band of Choctaw Indians
Kialegee Tribal Town
Miccosukee Tribe of Indians (of Florida)
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians
The Muscogee (Creek) Nation
Poarch Band of Creek Indians
The Quapaw Tribe of Indians
The Seminole Nation of Oklahoma
Seminole Tribe of Florida
Shawnee Tribe
Thlopthlocco Tribal Town
Tunica-Biloxi Indian Tribe
United Keetoowah Band of Cherokee Indians