Back to top


Defined by David Chase. Named after the Averett site.


This type was defined by Ripley Bullen in the 1950s. This type is the standard for historic period brushed pottery on the Chattahoochee River. Walnut Roughened in the Macon area is the same thing, only on shell-tempered pottery.

The Connestee series was named by Bennie Keel from excavations in western North Carolina, particularly the Tuckasegee site. This material is almost identical to Middle Woodland material from northern Georgia. Named after Connestee Falls?

Named after the Etowah site (9Br1) by Robert Wauchope.

Named by John Worth based upon excavation at Fig Springs site in northern Florida. Part of Worth's Suwannee Valley series.

This is a type named by Marion Heimlich for the Flint River in north-central Alabama, not the Georgia river of the same name. We do not know anyone in Georgia that has used this type name.

Named after an island flooded under the waters of the Guntersville Reservoir in northeastern Alabama. Named by Marion Heimlich.

Named by Patricia Holden and revised by Bennie Keel, all from work in western North Carolina. This series has an iridescent sheen, and larger tetrapods than the similar, and presumably later, Connestee Brushed. Presumably named after the Pigeon River. Probably not a name that is very useful for Georgia.

Named after Wilmington Island on the northern Georgia Coast.

Historic Seminole brushed pottery named by John Goggin.